Spectacles, Kristin Krimmel, 36 x 36 inches. Acrylic on Canvas

The show is just about over. I’ve had great feed back. Clearly the favorite painting is “Spectacles”, three panels forming a 36 x 36 inch triptych. Next comes “Hallelulia!” amd then the renamed painting “Grow Op”.

Hallelulia!  Kristin Krimmel, 2 panels creating a 36 x 36 image, acrylic on canvas.

There’s a story to tell here.

I did the larger 24×36 inches portion and it always seemed not quite complete. I kept thinking that it looked like a musical score with the cables curling along like musical clefs, and the wires like the staff one writes music on. My piano music was not giving me quite the image I wanted so I asked my friend Karen who taught Voice lessons and choral music. She brought me a beautiful collection of Handel’s works for voice which included the Hallelulia Chorus in it. What you see on the second panel to the right is the first chords of the Hallelulia Chorus.

When next she saw the painting, I had created the second part enought for her to see the structure of it. “Why,” she asked, “had I made the bass clef like that?” It was pointed in the wrong direction and had an extra curl to it, making it look more like a snail shell than an ear.

I pointed out to her that I had copied it directly from the music she had given me. So she went home to research that symbol that she had not noticed before in her musical career.  It turns out that it is called a C-clef and the dot rests on a line that then becomes C. It was an old way of writing music that has generally speaking become obsolete.

“Grow Op”  Kristin Krimmel, 24 x 3 6 inches acrylic on canvas

I originally called this one Distribution: Tangle and Shadow.
I was in the sign shop picking up my vinyl lettering for the gallery opening. I always talk to Pat, the graphic designer, because he, too, is an artist, although of quite different style and intent. I was explaining the upcoming exhibition and mentioned that it was all about Power Poles.  The older fellow at the till piped up “I’d like to see that!” so I encouraged him to look at my web site on line. It only took a few seconds before he was howling with laughter.

“What’s so funny?” I asked as his laughter subsided. “What are you looking at?”

He turned around the computer and pointed to this painting and said, “I worked for Telus for years. I trained the electricians to look out for this type of wiring – he pointed to the scrawny brown wires coming down the centre of the picture.An electrician could electrocute himself on a set up like this if he didn’t pay attention to it. Do you know where this is?”

“I don’t have a clue. I’ve been taking photos for over 10 years on this subject.  I’ve no idea where it is.”

At the opening of the exhibition, everyone loved the story of this painting, so now it’s  renamed “Grow Op.”

4 Responses to “”

  1. MDW Says:

    Cool stuff!

    I haven’t taken any photos of power lines, but I do have some of glasses. Interesting subject matter that, as you say, most people don’t think about and I like the associations to other objects that you made.

    This is neither here nor there, but speaking of power line stories – My father was an electrician (residential mostly) and I would help him during the summers. Whenever he needed to put a new service on a house, he never wanted to wait for the power company to turn off the juice.

    So we would get on the roof and he would hand me a pair of rubber gloves and tell me to hang onto the wires (which were quite heavy depending on the distance to the pole). Don’t let them touch and don’t let go he would say. Then he would procede to clip the wires off with pruning shears and wire them to the new riser. It seems he never told my mother about this since she was surprised to hear it when I mentioned it a couple of weeks ago.

  2. lookingforbeauty Says:

    Thanks MDW,
    Great story! My better half has often asked me to help him with his repairs and he seems equally nonchalant about working with live wiring. I can’t talk him out of it and I worry terribly about it each time he does it.
    K

  3. fencer Says:

    These are cool! There’s something fascinating about power lines, transformers and the tangles of wire on poles….

    Regards

  4. lookingforbeauty Says:

    Thanks Fencer. It was quite a race to get them all ready for the exhibition in October. Now I can sit back and enjoy them.
    I had someone in from Shaw fixing my phone today and he looked at one of the painting stacked in the basement and said “That’s us. That’s Shaw!” . He really liked them. He thought it was pretty cool that they were subject of paintings.
    The feedback is very important for me so I really appreciate your comments.
    K

Leave a Reply

