Allan Fulle

Towers of light

Alan Fulle’s acrylic towers lean sometimes improbably in their irregular ascent. Each is a maximalist’s delight in detail, full of colour and texture.The artist takes colour chips from his many explorations with the  epoxy resin, cuts them up to fit together , assembles and glues them. When his form is complete, he sands it smooth then applies an industrial clear coat of acrylic. It’s a labour intensive process and if you see the object before it has its final coat, it seems like nothing – dusty, scratchy, unfinished. The top coat performs a miracle and the colours all come out clear, rich and shining.

Seen in a group, as shown above, these sculptures make a community of towers, and are enhanced by their neighbourliness. I’ve seen one illuminated from the inside, but for this exhibition, it was impossible to do because it would have left a safety hazard of wires retreating to the nearest wall sockets.

I am always fascinated by works whose manufacture I can’t figure out. That’s part of their appeal. When I look at works that I could do myself, I may like them but I don’t get that “have to have” feel.  I think these works are perfectly suited to an upscale very contemporary design house with a grand foyer entrance. Alternatively, I get a strong desire to phone up the local or national gallery and say, “get down here quick. There’s something fabulous to see and you need to get one.” These ones  – I can’t imagine all the different processes involved and my mind boggles at the thought of trying to make one.

On a more personal level, I am thoroughly attracted to Fulle’ Kimono series. I don’t actually get a Kimono feel from these. It’s obviously not the shape that is driving the naming of them.

Xarathemum - 40x30x4 inches, oil, acrylic, archival epoxy resin on panel

Xarathemum 30″ x 40″ x 4″  – Oil, acrylic, epoxy resin on panel

They are constructed in a similar manner with layer upon layer. I like the playfulness and the modulation of the colour chip shapes.  I like the complication of the stripes overlaying the colours beneath it contrasting with a contrasting simplified shape on the left hand side. There is a flow to the composition, like a gentle wave; or a breeze lifting a multi-coloured curtain. It’s at once exciting in the colour composition and calming in the rhythms of the forms.

In a contemporary world of minimalists, Fulle likes to think of himself as a Maximalist. He enjoys the process and complication  and it bears out in his work.

Alan Fulle

Alan Fulle is a contemporary  American artist living in Seattle, Washington. These images were shown at the Elliot Louis Gallery in Vancouver in January 2012.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

