construction/deconstruction

Hitachi Graffiti, Kristin Krimmel, Acrylic on Canvas, 32 x  40 inches, 2010

The first visitors to walk in the door on this exhibition were prior colleagues of mine in my Property Management persona – the day job that kept me, the artist, going.

“Whoa!” says Jim, an electrician,  a huge grin on his face, ” Where did the flowers go?”  !!!!!!

Over the past four years since I went artist full time,  I’ve had the luxury to explore other avenues. While I was working, often a flower was the closest I could get to having a model, and the most compliant, time-wise, for me to paint. I threw that all over when I emerged from my working cocoon and went fishing for more exciting material to work with.

These paintings link back to my property management experiences.

The work specific to this show has taken two years to paint. Some of you who have followed my post during this time may have seen some of these images, but then, I decided that if they were all posted, there would be no surprise at the opening of my exhibition at the Fort Gallery in Fort Langley, B.C.
So I stopped posting the images… well, time ran out – I stopped blogging altogether.


Pylons, Kristin Krimmel, Acrylic on Canvas, 32 x  60 inches, 2010

Here is what I had to say in the artist statement:
Over the past five years, there has been an unusual amount of construction going on around Vancouver in preparation for the Olympics, including the cut and cover construction of the Canada Line nearby my former home at Cambie and 41st; and later in Maple Ridge near my new home, with the construction of the new Pitt and the Golden Ears Bridges.

While the construction itself was disruptive and grungy, I took a childlike interest in the bright coloured machines that made it all happen – the excavators, bulldozers, cranes and other equipment. On a grey day, a bright yellow ‘dozer or a bright orange excavator can be the only lively looking thing, amidst dirt and gravel.

Construction is about new building. It sometimes requires demolishing or taking apart what was there before. Deconstruction is the act of taking things apart.

In painting, I’m interested in the “guts” of an image – the shapes, the textures, the surface qualities, the spatial relationships and the colour harmonies.
The construction machines have given me the opportunity to deconstruct the original photo-like image into component parts, to abstract it, to play with ideas of weight and balance, shapes, formalities of composition, and ideas.

Bulldozer, Kristin Krimmel, Acrylic on canvas, 32 x 40 inches, 2010

Liebherr Crane – Pulleys,  Kristin Krimmel, acrylic on canvas, 36×24 inches, 2011

Liebherr Crane, Kristin Krimmel, acrylic on canvas, 36×24 inches, 2011

Liebherr – Site Warrior, Kristin Krimmel, Acrylic on Canvas, 30 x 4 0 inches. 2011

To see more of my paintings, see this web site

http://www.kristinkrimmel.com

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “construction/deconstruction”

  1. MDW Says:

    Way Cool, Kristin!

    I love the minimal abstract panels. They could stand on their own, but setting them next to the more fleshed out versions is a unique and throught provoking idea. It really works. I like Pylons best myself.

    Congrats on the exhibition! Great work.

    MDW

  2. Sonya Chasey Says:

    Very impressive . I remember the top ones from some time back. I love the ones of the cranes & pulleys – strong designs but you’ve also managed to find a delicacy there. I also appreciate the fact of them being silent! Congratulations – hope the exhibition went well.

  3. lookingforbeauty Says:

    Thanks Sonya,
    The exhibition was very good, and I’ve had lots of follow up from it, so I’m happy.
    Thanks Mark, I always appreciate your feedback
    K

Leave a Reply

