Eggs for breakfast

I’ve been feeling cut off from my writing and posting of imagery. So much goes on at this time of year that we can easily get distracted from our main purposes.

This morning when I boiled up two eggs for breakfast, I was struck by the reflections of these eggs in shallow water. I cook them in a small fry pan, mostly by steam, which is just one of my little ways to reduce energy consumption. The stove doesn’t have to heat up so much water ergo less use of energy.

And, no, I’m not depressed to be posting almost black and white photos of eggs.  I really was excited about how subtle the egg form is and how it catches light.  I was equally excited about placement of them. In some of them, there is a faint reflection in the bit of water that remains in the pan. It’s elegant!

So here they are:

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Eggs for breakfast”

  1. kseverny Says:

    were they good?.

  2. forestrat Says:

    You are not alone in photographing eggs. Here is a link to some shots by Leonard Nimoy. He has an “egg series”.

    MDW

    http://www.leonardnimoyphotography.com/2photo.htm

  3. lookingforbeauty Says:

    I knew I couldn’t be the only one to think this up.
    It looks like his have been photographed on a flat black background and from above, which is what gives the floating effect when the photo is then turned upright on the wall (or computer screen).
    It’s good to be in great company!
    Thanks for putting me onto his web page. I enjoyed a tour through his work.

    K

  4. lookingforbeauty Says:

    Hi K Severny
    They were just perfect! All the white was cooked and the yellow was hot and runny, just the way I like them. A bit of salt and mmmmmmmm good.

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    I love how you caught a warm glow in the bottom two photos.

Leave a Reply

