Painting from Memory 2

I went walking early again today. Same place, on the Alouette Dikes. Nothing has changed. The temperature is steady around 25 degrees for an hour and then it heats up. When it does, I refuge myself indoors.

I took another good look at the bridge. It’s a tough composition because the bridge is such a driving horizontal force without a break that it tends to drive the eye right out of the picture. It’s only the surrounding shubbery that could save it.

The other memory describes where the dike pathway  is midway in the image. I see the image as four quadrants, with a centre much like a pin wheel. One is the blue sky with small (distant) cedars on the bottom of it. Beside it is a tall, round shaped tree that does not have a very visible trunk, so it really looks round. The third is the shadow from this tree cast over the ochre coloured grasses.  The fourth is a sunny sweep of grasses down into the hollow, the level of the fields. But now, when I try to draw the pinwheel, I can’t fit these elements in as I saw them. My logic gets in the way. It’s couldn’t have been like that.

As I was walking, I was looking for this spot that I had so carefully memorized. Today I couldn’t find it. Was I dreaming?

Here’s the painting

Mem 2 Alouette Dike 20090720 small

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Painting from Memory 2”

  1. severnyproductions Says:

    beautiful painting. great work

  2. lookingforbeauty Says:

    Hey, thanks Severny.

  3. swatch Says:

    Isn’t that strange how it happens – is it a mind thing? This is an interesting way to paint. You have obviously made a conscious decision not to sketch on site. This is such a lively painting – I like it.

    This place sounds quite edgy if you get dingoes and things – nice.

  4. lookingforbeauty Says:

    It’s quite a natural place.
    We regularly see lots of different birds – hawks, bald eagles, a variety of ducks, Great Blue herons, Stellar Jays, Sandhill cranes (that are very shy and hard to spot), the run of the mill profusion of sparrows, wrens, grosbeaks, finches and robins. There are lots of marsh birds whose names I don’t know, like snipes and rails but more of them.
    Brown bears are now coming into the built up areas – because they used to live there! But they can be dangerous. There are paths in the park that I no longer take, this summer, because they have become overgrown and if one met a bear, there would be no place for either to back out graciously. It’s too narrow.
    From time to time, I’ve seen a beaver sunning himself an occasionally, one can see a tree they’ve fallen for a dam.
    About this time of year, fish start swimming up river to spawn. It’s quite beautiful.
    There are many animals that we wouldn’t see – they know their camouflaging techniques too well; or they wait until evening to come out – all the weasels, raccoons, mink, otters and things that live low to the ground, fishing at the water’s edge.

    We, the humans, are pushing the wild life out of their habitat as we develop our municipalities. It’s expected that the population in this area will quadruple in the next forty years.
    The building of multiple family dwellings – town houses, row houses, condominiums, apartments, duplexes and quadraplexes, houses with in-law suites are being encouraged. Granny houses ( a small 600 to 1000 sq ft building studio type building in which a single person might live, independently but in association with their family) can be built now in some areas at the back of normal residential lot, like mine.
    Where are the animals to go?
    So it is quite wonderful to have this large park that is accessible to all of us – humans and animals alike – and be able to walk there to see it all.

  5. lookingforbeauty Says:

    Hi again, Swatch,
    Conscious decision not to paint there?
    I might, if the days were not so scorchingly hot. There are few shaded places; but I’d love to take my paints up there at some time.
    My first priority when I’m there is the walking. Usually that takes up my available time, so the photographs are a great reminder of what I’ve seen, but working from photos and working from the real thing are not the same at all. are they?
    Keep, encouraging me! I may get out there yet.
    K

  6. Ellen Says:

    Hi,
    Anybody here heard of Lecoq Boisbaudran? He developed techniques for training and developing visual memory. I located his material a few days ago. Info and links or on my blog. Check it out?
    http://atelierartisanal.com/category/memory/

Leave a Reply

