What I was hoping for

I planned my garden for colour. I’d love to see a butterfly or two.

When Elizabeth came for her drawing lesson on Tuesday, as she was drawing the foxglove beside the lilies and this is what we saw:

zz 305 small

I got colour, n’est pas, but better than I hoped, I have butterflies traipsing through my yard. This one stayed quite a while and allowed me to photograph it while it explored the bright orange petals. I like the background fill in this one. It sure brings out the  sunshine in the flower

Here’s a slightly different view.

zz 311 small

The butterfly is more fully defined  in this one.

One of my readers has let me know: This is a Tiger Swallowtail. Isn’t she beautiful?

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “What I was hoping for”

  1. tomwhelan Says:

    Fine image of a lovely visitor – it’s a tiger swallowtail, could be Western Tiger Swallowtail, Canadian Tiger Swallowtail, or Two-tailed Tiger Swallowtail.

  2. swatch Says:

    Hi K – what beautiful colours!

Leave a Reply

