Installation Art – again

m

I’ve been exceedingly happy as my garden reveals itself for the first time to me. I took possession of the house in July last year. The spring flowering was over. Much of the summer flowering was gone too!.

I knew that the family that had it previously had cared for the garden to the extent their time allowed, but it was overgrown and I had no idea what kind of perennials were lurking just below the soil waiting for the sun and rain to nourish them into exuberant plants in spring.

Well here we are, and already I have a profusion of colours, shapes and forms.

For the past three weeks, this lovely Camellia shown above has been producing exquisite flowers. The tree is rather messy – it deposits flowers on the ground without hesitation. They don’t seem to have an attachment to the stem that works. I was out cleaning up the resulting mess two days ago, gathering up these brilliant blooms and discovered that it wasn’t just the ones that were tired, weak and brown edged from relative old age that were falling. Some perfectly good , flawless blooms were falling too. I hated to waste them.

Since no one is here to tell me that my playfulness is silly or stupid, I started to play with them on the lawn, racking them up in a grid on the fresh and lusty grass; and eventually I tried out some changes in the grid; and then I made a face with them.

It’s impermanent. The only thing that will last is the photo recording my half hour of playing with the fresh blooms. The next day there was a whole new crop of fresh and exquisite blooms delivered to the asphalt driveway. Each day, I’ve been picking them up and adding them to my grid of flowers. I figure, I might as well enjoy them as long as I can. There’s no use in packaging up this soft pink fragile beauty in a clear plastic garbage bag for disposal. They haven’t had their time yet.

And so I’ve laid them out on the lawn for a second go at enjoyment of the. I’ve also taken a hint from Fiji where I vacationed lately. There’s no need for a vase. The weather is cool enough and very wet. They’ll last without further coddling. And when they are done, well, they are done. Then I will rake them up and put them in the compost. Do you think my worms would like the festival of flowers?
Here are some of the things I’ve done with them:

mmm

This is day 3 and they are still and I place the fallen ones each day. Wouldn’t it be something to cover the entire lawn with this expanded grid?

Leave a Reply

