At the art gallery

So I must have bored you to death with the last post. People have stopped looking. My blog stats are at an all time low. But it’s too early in the morning to be clever and write something, so here’s a sketch to see if I can’t tempt you back:

napkin-sketch.jpg

I’m always running out of paper to draw on, even though normally I carry a moleskine book with me to jot visual notes down on. This sketch is on a napkin. I did it in the Vancouver Art Gallery café, of a young man eating alone, sitting beside this huge bouquet of gorgeous tulips in a translucent lime green vase.

When I got back to the office, I filled in the colours as best as I could remember, with red pen and fluorescent highlighter pens. Of course the drawing wasn’t going to last, so I scanned it for posterity.

I ended up doing a watercolour and a chalk pastel from it.

lime-vase-with-tulips-small.jpg

I most often find that sketches done on the spot from life are far more lively than the extended-time compositions that I end up with when working in the studio. They are two different things really. One is done in haste and carries that spontenaeity right into the drawing. The other is more meditative, since one has more time to think about composition, placement, spacial dynamics, texture, tonal et cetera.

Sorry, but  I don’t have a photo of the watercolour, so that will have to wait for another time.

Leave a Reply

